Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Beginner here trying to build an app.

ggonzagaggonzaga Aventura FLPosts: 1New Users Noob
Hello, I am a beginner and I am trying to build an iOS application for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad. Well, basically the app requires you to register, so I need a server to store all the information. So my questions are if I need to buy/build a server computer (like Mac Mini OSX Server) or is there some kind of cloud server you buy from a bigger company? I don't want to have to get a computer to store all the stuff, so is there some kind of cloud server that stores all the registrations and stuff? If so, please tell me what it is called so I can look it up.

Also, what languages do I have to learn? I am learning Objective-C, do I need to know some kind of server language to manage the server as well or is it UI friendly?

Thank you!

Replies

• ryantcbryantcb Posts: 667Registered Users @ @ @
    To store registrations use a MySQL database most decent host will have one through phpMyAdmin. Then use a php script to query the database and handle that response into the iOS app.
  • kapps11kapps11 Posts: 732Registered Users @ @ @
    I'd recommend using a BaaS company that will handle all of the server stuff for you. I've used parse.com before and I love them. Free for most uses and a great sdk.
  • chuckc192000chuckc192000 FloridaPosts: 394New Users @ @
    Your ISP would probably take a dim view of you running a server on your home account, especially if it gets a lot of traffic. Check your terms of service.
  • Crichton333Crichton333 Posts: 279Registered Users @ @
    Your ISP would probably take a dim view of you running a server on your home account, especially if it gets a lot of traffic. Check your terms of service.