Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How Do I Pick A Profitable App Niche?

brod1brod1 VirginiaPosts: 26New Users @
So I've been teaching myself Objective-C and iOS development for a few months now and I think I'm ready to dive in and make a real app and put it on the app store. But before I decide on an idea, plan it out, decide on my monetization strategy, and get to work, I figured that if I wanted to make any amount of money at all I'd have to pick a profitable app category or niche to start with. To me it would make sense to pick a small niche where there isn't much competition but if there isn't much competition maybe there isn't much money in that niche. So my question is: How do you guys (that make money with your apps) pick a profitable niche to build an app for?

Replies

• dev666999dev666999 Posts: 3,547New Users @ @ @ @ @
    edited January 2014
    There are only two methods that are common to the app store.

Build the better mousetrap or copy the better mousetrap.

Copying seems to be the prevailing trend. At least in games. Whatever is trending in games, gets copied until the app store is choked with the sheer numbers. The trick is to catch the trend early.
  • brod1brod1 VirginiaPosts: 26New Users @
    @dev666999 Now that you said it I do see that almost all apps are "build the better mousetrap" or copy it. But if you "copy the better mousetrap" without having a competitive edge then you'd have to do it early on before the other apps take hold of that market, am I right?
    edited January 2014
    The earlier you catch the trend, the more likely your app will stick on the charts. The later ones still make money, but tend to drift down quickly.

An advertising and marketing budget though will trump all that. But then, it also eats into your profits.

It's tough game... balancing expenses vs potential revenue.