Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to ensure high quality of external developers?

F4z2hcF4z2hc outside USPosts: 3New Users Noob
Hi,

I am running a few apps and am not really happy how I am able to manage my developers.

My basic problems is, that I am not capable of verifying if the developers deliver a 'good' source code, or follow certain methods.

What I provide to the developers is the functional description of what I need. I provide mock-up screens, description of the logic behind (on a textual basis) and that works pretty well. But for me the app, the development and the source code is a black box.

How can I change that?

I was thinking about hiring a second company who does a code review, but I have no experience with what to look for or how that process works (and if it will benefit me).

There should also be a planning/design document, but I haven't seen this ever. Is it typically to use those documents for smaller projects like apps?

I do understand my question is a bit wide. I am typically very capable of handling lots of IT tasks myself. I just never cared to much about software development - but given the state of my business I need to change that now.

Looking forward for some ideas

Thakn you
Chris

Replies

• angelappsangelapps usaPosts: 260New Users @ @
    edited February 2016
    It really depends on what you are paying.

If you seek the lowest cost on a fixed cost per project basis, expect corners to be cut.

If you paying the full wack then you can expect certain standards to be met.

If you have gone down the freelance route and are choosing the lowest bidder you will never get 'good' source code, but will get source code that 'works'
  • JonPMJonPM Posts: 159New Users @ @
    If the app works and doesn't have any issues then who cares?
  • RudyRudy Ottawa, CanadaPosts: 1,787Registered Users @ @ @ @