Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need the opinion of skilled professional developers on an app idea (#1)

I want to thank you in advanced for taking the time to lend me your criticism on my idea whether its negative or positive. Also, keep in mind I have NO coding experience in iOS development but am willing to learn as much as I can.

SpotHot (working name)

Problem it solves
Not knowing which night life hangout spot to venture to without going from place to place wasting time and money.

Description
SpotHot gives users the ability to rate the level of fun/excitement/atmosphere/etc. of a local night "spot" at any given time. An average is taken from all the ratings submitted to that specific location to give its "hot" level which is constantly updated as the night goes by.

Functions:
Through the locations function you will be able to easily find the places you want to rate or check.
The rating interface is a slider that you move based on the atmosphere of the place you are rating.
Comments can be added and shared along with your rating (limited character count).
A notification system will alert users to rate a place again after the initial rating.

Design
Clean and simple.
I've been playing with the idea of the use of a thermometer interface as the rating slider going from cold (blue) to hot (red).

So that's the basics of the idea which I think is relatively simple and doesn't seem like that much work for a good developer, but what do I know, that's why I'm posting on here in the first place.

Ultimately I'm looking for three things:

1. To know if this is a valuable project that is worth perusing.
2. If so, what would go into developing something like this (time/money/work).
3. Someone to go in on this project with me if they are interested and committed to the idea.

Thanks again and please don't spare me my feelings with the criticism, I'm a big boy.