Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How many hours should I expect a professional to build an application?

7Swords7Swords Posts: 1
edited May 2013 in iOS SDK Development
I'm new to app development and I'm wondering, for an app similar to a networking site, mostly discussion based (so html5 mostly with a few animations here and there) how many hours might that take a pro or even intermediate talent?
Post edited by Rhade on

Replies

• GHuebnerGHuebner Posts: 665 @ @ @
    I would say the equivalent time it would take a contractor to build a house.

Well, you would really need to define your requirements a bit further. Once you identify the actual scope then someone could estimate how long the components may take. It will also depend if you have a backend already created or are building that, how you will authenticate, etc.

Even then those are estimates not exact-imates.
  • Duncan CDuncan C Posts: 9,114 @ @ @ @ @ @ @
    7Swords said:

I'm new to app development and I'm wondering, for an app similar to a networking site, mostly discussion based (so html5 mostly with a few animations here and there) how many hours might that take a pro or even intermediate talent?

This is a "how long is a piece of string" question. You need to provide a full functional spec for your application, with all the screen layouts an all the network interactions defined before a developer can give you a meaningful estimate. Otherwise the answer is science fiction.
    Regards,
    Duncan C
    WareTo

widehead.gif
    Animated GIF created with Face Dancer, available for free in the app store.

I'm available for one-on-one help at CodeMentor
  • GHuebnerGHuebner Posts: 665 @ @ @
    edited May 2013
    How many hours will it take to create a full functional spec???

Just kidding. I saw this quote a while back and thought it was basically true...