Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Newby to iOS requests help

jmccownjmccown OklahomaPosts: 11New Users *
Hello:

I am an Android developer looking to enhance my skills by branching out to iOS. Was wondering if any of you could give me some advice?

Up to this point the only apple device I have ever owned is an old iPod touch. I hear I need a Mac to develop iOS Apps. Is this absolutely 100% necessary?

I understand Object-oriented programming well. And I programmed in C on Windows PCs way back when. Any advice on getting up to speed with Objective-C/Swift?

I am thinking the best way to get going would be to start by translating my published Android Apps to iOS. Is that a good way to start?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• RussellLowryRussellLowry Posts: 24New Users @
    Welcome!

Yes, it is absolutely necessary to have a Mac to develop for iOS. To be able to to run Xcode (the IDE), you must have a Mac.

Your Android app I assume is in Java, so if I were you, I would translate your previous Android apps into iOS. I know Java very well and find Objective-C quite easy to grab ahold of.

Good luck!
  • dev666999dev666999 Posts: 3,554New Users @ @ @ @ @
    Welcome!

Yes, it is absolutely necessary to have a Mac to develop for iOS. To be able to to run Xcode (the IDE), you must have a Mac.

Your Android app I assume is in Java, so if I were you, I would translate your previous Android apps into iOS. I know Java very well and find Objective-C quite easy to grab ahold of.

Good luck!

Are you 100% sure of that? LOL...
  • jmccownjmccown OklahomaPosts: 11New Users *
    Hi Russell:

Thanks for your response. I'm looking at Macs online. Would the following MacBook Air configuration be adequate for most iOS development projects?

1.6 GHz i5 processor
    4 GB SDRAM
    128 GB Flash Storage

Or do I need more horsepower?