Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

iOS development vs Android development

Andre99Andre99 ItalyPosts: 1New Users Noob
Hi,
I have been an Android developer since 3 years. Now I need to switch to iOS, because a company I work with needs an iOS app (and also an Android app, but iOS above all).

The Android app is ready to the deploy, and some days ago i started setting up the iOS project. That was the first time: I read many tutorials, watched many videos, recreated the project again, because it's all messed up. And, some minutes ago, I ended up with a solution: I can' create an app for iOS.

I've always been mind-open, that wans't too bad for me to learn something new. But this is different. In Android I have RelativeLayout, WeightedLayout, LinearLayout, and I could do everything with the code. iOS editor is visual-only, and it's completely messed up. Something that looks good in the editor preview looks cutted, out of the screen and other terrible things.

I created the home screen, saw the result, and I closed Xcode, shutted down the computer and went out for a walk as far as possible from my Mac, because I was about to throw it from my window, which is 4 floors from the earth.

I'm looking for someone with some years of experience with iOS programming, who could tell me some good tips about how to start. Thank you for reading

Replies

• Crichton333Crichton333 Posts: 262Registered Users @ @
    Why not make the app in Unity or some other engine or framework, why use Xcode. You even have services that clone your apps from Android to iOS. There are probably hundreds of frameworks by now for iOS.
    "Smoke me a kipper i'll be back for breakfast." -- iOS: Nebula Virtual Reality
  • C6Silver05C6Silver05 SeattlePosts: 632New Users @ @ @