Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mixing pure C and Objective C

davo666davo666 Posts: 65Registered Users
edited March 2009 in iOS SDK Development
hello,

in a C function i have these lines:
UIAlertView *alert = [[UIAlertView alloc] initWithTitle:@"Title" message:@"Titie" delegate:nil cancelButtonTitle:@"Done" otherButtonTitles:nil];
	[alert show];
	[alert release];

the error i get is 'self' undeclared, but what i need to know is how do i get this C function to be in the scope of 'self' (im a c coder so: what the hell is self anyway?!? :) )

thanks for you help
Post edited by davo666 on

Replies

• zhylazhyla Posts: 253Registered Users
    edited March 2009
    I don't see self in the code listing, so I'm confused by your error. Sure you got the right lines?
  • RickMaddyRickMaddy Posts: 2,122New Users
    edited March 2009
    If you are going to write apps for the iPhone then you MUST learn Objective-C. 'self' is used within a class to reference the current instance of the class. None of that seems relevant to the code you posted.

Exactly what line that you posted is giving you this error? You need to provide more details.
  • jtarajtara Posts: 406Registered Users
    edited March 2009
    You can't "mix pure C with objective C" like this.

Not sure if you have some functions in a .c file, or simply a C function (not a method) within a .mm file, since you haven't stated. But, no difference, really.

If you have a pure C function you can't just plop some Objective-C in the middle of it. I know this is confusing because, of course, you CAN just plop some plain-old C in the middle of some Object-C code.

That is because Objective-C simply adds some features to C. NOT the other way around! ;)

I believe that there is a way to CALL an Objective-C method from within a C function, but I haven't done that so I don't know the details.