Advertise here




Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Organizer says "Could not support development."

sirjecsirjec Posts: 16Registered Users
edited September 2010 in iOS SDK Development
Tonight when I plugged my iPhone into my development machine I'm met with an error in the XCode Organizer under my iPhone device that says:

"Could not support development."


This is instead of the normal list of provisioning profiles and applications.

Has anyone else had this happen? I'm loathed to restore OS 2.2.1, but I'm more wondering why or how this could happen.

Any ideas?

-JC
Post edited by sirjec on
·

Replies

  • myemailisjustinmyemailisjustin Posts: 52Registered Users
    edited April 2009
    sirjec wrote: »
    Tonight when I plugged my iPhone into my development machine I'm met with an error in the XCode Organizer under my iPhone device that says:

    "Could not support development."


    This is instead of the normal list of provisioning profiles and applications.

    Has anyone else had this happen? I'm loathed to restore OS 2.2.1, but I'm more wondering why or how this could happen.

    Any ideas?

    -JC

    Did you try to re-provision? Re-Add your certificate to your development device? I've never had this happen, but it sounds like something corrupted your development certificate.
    Malus Pumila, LLC<br />
    <a href="http://www.maluspumila.net" target="_blank">http://www.maluspumila.net</a><br />
    <br />
    God's Bible - <a href="http://www.maluspumila.net/Gods_Bible_-_The_iPhone_Bible_Application/Welcome.html" target="_blank">http://ww
    ·
  • sirjecsirjec Posts: 16Registered Users
    edited April 2009
    Did you try to re-provision? Re-Add your certificate to your development device? I've never had this happen, but it sounds like something corrupted your development certificate.

    My certificate is fine, as I have another iPod that currently works.

    Here's what the screen looks like - it's quite Bizarre.
    not_support_development.png
    ·
  • funkytacofunkytaco AtlantaPosts: 413Registered Users @ @
    edited April 2009
    Try rebooting.
    http://wddng.net - My geek wddng blog
    ·
  • jsdjsd Posts: 900Registered Users
    edited April 2009
    funkytaco wrote: »
    Try rebooting.

    seconded. i have problems all the time with my iphone not being recognized or giving "unexpected error 0x3676E7647" (digits not exact). rebooting the phone first usually fixes it. if it doesn't, rebooting both phone and mac does.
    ·
  • sirjecsirjec Posts: 16Registered Users
    edited April 2009
    funkytaco wrote: »
    Try rebooting.

    Thank you funky taco. Rebooting apple equipment is never something I think needs to be done. My problem is solved.

    Cheers!
    ·
  • AlexanderHoodAlexanderHood Posts: 4New Users
    edited May 2009
    sirjec wrote: »
    Thank you funky taco. Rebooting apple equipment is never something I think needs to be done. My problem is solved.

    Cheers!

    Same problem! Same solution, rebooted the iPhone everything is fine.

    A.H.
    ·
  • ronaldberonaldbe Posts: 4New Users
    edited May 2009
    Same issue, same resolution, thanks for the tip. It seems to need a reboot after every reinstallation of the prov profile
    ·
  • zulfishahzulfishah Posts: 204Registered Users @ @
    edited June 2009
    funkytaco wrote: »
    Try rebooting.

    Thanks for the tip. Works for me too.
    ·
  • cmpakcmpak Posts: 24Registered Users
    edited July 2009
    funkytaco wrote: »
    Try rebooting.
    Thank you. Rebooting works for me too!!!!!
    ·
  • mattjgallowaymattjgalloway Posts: 250Registered Users
    edited July 2009
    Rebooting works but it's mighty annoying... I never used to have it happen on my iPod Touch but with my iPhone 3GS it happens almost everytime. Very annoying.
    <a href="http://bit.ly/BeardBoothHD" target="_blank">Beard Booth HD</a> - See what you'd look like with a beard today!<br />
    <br />
    <a href="http://iphone.galloway.me.uk/" target="_blank">My iPhone Apps</a><br />
    <a href="http://iphone.galloway.me.uk/i
    ·
  • PyroferPyrofer Posts: 16Registered Users
    edited July 2009
    I get "Could not support development" on both my new 3GS and an old 1st Gen updated to 3.0.
    Rebooting does nothing. I am unable to get them to work, ive tried re-provisioning and reinstalling. I updated the SDK to latest 3.1beta and put latest release itunes etc, but no luck. I just cant get the hardware recognised.
    Any ideas?
    ·
  • ronaldrwlronaldrwl Posts: 2New Users
    edited July 2009
    I have the same problem after updating to xcode to 3.1.3.
    I've updated itunes, rebooted, deleted my profiles and got all new certificates.
    I'm an experienced Windows programmer trying to migrate to the future. I feel like a noob starting all over.
    My app was working on the iPhone before the updates. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
    ·
  • aryaxtaryaxt Posts: 570Registered Users
    edited July 2009
    Thanks for mentioning "Phone"
    hehe i kept restarting my mac and that wouldn't fix it.
    I rebooted my iphone and problem is solved
    ·
  • ronaldrwlronaldrwl Posts: 2New Users
    edited July 2009
    A follow up note for those stuck in provisioning hell. I was able to re-establish the provisioning link between xcode and my iPhone (or what ever it's called).
    The problem arrived after upgrading xcode. I had to delete the key files and certificate files from my computer. Go to the Developer Portal and remove all the certificates and profiles. Remove the Provisioning profile on the iPhone and reboot it.
    Start the whole process over and take it slow. Finally, I can get back to coding!
    ·
  • martin@iphoneforummartin@iphoneforum Posts: 1New Users
    edited July 2009
    Thanks :-)
    ·
  • lugsterlugster Posts: 1New Users
    edited August 2009
    Awesome! It's so simple! Thanx!
    ·
  • ibly31appsibly31apps Posts: 7New Users
    edited September 2009
    Worked for me to, thanks!
    ·
  • PalmBeachSoftwarePalmBeachSoftware Posts: 3New Users
    edited September 2009
    Reboot of the phone worked for me! Glad I looked it up first...I thought I was going to have to re-do everything. :)

    Mark
    Palm Beach Software Design
    ·
  • FlexicoderFlexicoder Posts: 25Registered Users
    edited October 2009
    Thanks fixed me to, was banging my head for a little while!
    A hopeful games developer<br />
    <a href="http://itunes.com/apps/imedilog" target="_blank">iMediLog</a><br />
    <a href="http://itunes.com/apps/savewithkt" target="_blank">Save With Katie</a><br />
    <a href="http://itunes.com/apps/containpaid" target="_bla
    ·
  • jsdjsd Posts: 900Registered Users
    edited October 2009
    For what it's worth, since upgrading to Snow Leopard I have not had this happen at all, and it used to happen every few days.
    ·
  • PalmBeachSoftwarePalmBeachSoftware Posts: 3New Users
    edited October 2009
    jsd wrote: »
    For what it's worth, since upgrading to Snow Leopard I have not had this happen at all, and it used to happen every few days.

    All of a sudden a Reboot DOESN'T work. Just upgraded to Snow last night, pulling down the latest xCode now...hope that fixes things. :)
    ·
  • ashokbabuyashokbabuy Posts: 2New Users
    edited November 2009
    You guys saved my life. Rebooting the device totally works after upgrading X-code
    ·
  • iferretiferret Posts: 8New Users
    edited June 2010
    I got this error when installing the new iOS 4.0 SDK - I finally fixed just by unplugging and replugging the iPhone - I didn't even reboot it!
    ·
  • LasherLasher Posts: 1New Users
    edited September 2010
    iferret wrote: »
    I got this error when installing the new iOS 4.0 SDK - I finally fixed just by unplugging and replugging the iPhone - I didn't even reboot it!

    Same here! :)
    ·
Sign In or Register to comment.