Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to make a NSStream instance reusable?

bobgreenbobgreen Posts: 7New Users
edited June 2009 in iOS SDK Development
Hello everyone, I'm new to socket stream developing.

I've prepared the nsstream class and make it work fine with sending and receiving data with a server application(written by C#).

But I can't send and receive data again and again through the same stream connection. It means, I have to CLOSE and RELEASE the first stream instance and ALLOC a new one to send and receive new data. It's obviously too complicated to work with a multi-threads server application. Since I only can determine one client connection with its IP and PORT, if I create a new connection with the following code, the PORT will change and I will never know if it's a new client or not.
[NSHost hostWithAddress:ADDRESS port:PORTinputStream:&inStream outputStream:&outStream];
(I don't know if hostWithAddress still work in real iPhone with OS3.0?:confused:)

And I find out that, if I CLOSE the instream and outstream and then OPEN them again, it doesn't work.
In Apple's SDK, they said:
Close
Closing the stream terminates the flow of bytes and releases system resources that were reserved for the stream when it was opened. If the stream has been scheduled on a run loop, closing the stream implicitly removes the stream from the run loop. A stream that is closed can still be queried for its properties.
Open
A stream must be created before it can be opened. Once opened, a stream cannot be closed and reopened.

I'm thinking about Jume's post in this link(click me). He said:
1) created a Communicator class (subclass of NSObject) that sets NSInputStream and NSOutputStream objects for connecting to TCP socket
2) created a protocol CommunicatorDelegate in this communicator class for delegation