Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Amount of days between two dates

corneliussencorneliussen Posts: 21Registered Users
edited December 2010 in iPhone SDK Development
Hi

I am quite new to objective-c and need some help...

If there a easy way to figure our the amount of days between two dates? Or rephrased - what is the best way to do this.

Best regards
S
Post edited by corneliussen on

Replies

• rames44rames44 Posts: 365Tutorial Authors, Registered Users @ @
    edited September 2008
    If you get the two dates each represented as an NSDate, you can use
       NSTimeInterval interval = [date1 timeIntervalSinceDate: date2];

NSTimeInterval is the elapsed time in seconds (expressed as a floating point number). You could then divide by 86400, which is the number of seconds in a day and round to the nearest integer.

If you need to build an NSDate, you can use NSCalendar and NSDateComponents.

Remember that, in order to make it come out even, you may need to make sure that the two NSDate's each represent approximately the same time of day on the particular date in question. Thus, if you're trying to say "how many days from date X to now," you may have to take the current date and time that [NSDate date] provides you, decompose it into NSDateComponents, zero out the hours, minutes, seconds and then rebuild it into an NSDate. If you don't do this, and if the first date/time is early in the morning and the second date/time is late at night, you may chalk up an extra day.
    For a little fun, check out my <a href="http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=298866985&mt=8" target="_blank">Biorhythms</a> app
  • HoofSCHoofSC Posts: 41Registered Users
    edited February 2009
    rames44 wrote: »