Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Free Utility For Adding Logs

BrianSlickBrianSlick Treadmill Desk NinjaPosts: 10,676Tutorial Authors, Registered Users @ @ @ @ @ @ @ @
edited May 2014 in iOS SDK Development
NOTE: I've made a new version. Scroll down to find the post. The original here still works, though.

Offered with very little support is this:

TrackingLogsService.zip
See GitHub instead: BTITrackingLogs

Edit: The zip file is obsolete, and I'm no longer providing the full package, just the Xcode project on GitHub. So some of the instructions below no longer apply; you'll have to build the whole thing from scratch.

Edit 2: See this thread for some complementary services.

Contents:

- An Xcode project that builds an Automator action
- A pre-made instance of said action
- A sample Automator Workflow using said action

How to make it:

I don't actually know that much about Automator, so I don't know if you can just drop in what I've included, or if you will need to make stuff for yourself.

- Build the app and then reveal the product in the Finder, just like you would for an iPhone app.
- The .action needs to wind up in ~/Library/Automator
- The Workflow needs to be in ~/Library/Services

If drag-n-drop doesn't work, create a new Automator Workflow using the Service template. Name it whatever you want. Use these settings at the top:
Service receives selected -text- in -any application-
-checkmark ON- Replaces selected text

Then find the action and drag it into your workflow. It will probably be found in your "Recently Added" smart folder. Save.

This should appear in your Services menu any time you have text selected. If you want to assign a key command, System Preferences -> Keyboard -> Keyboard Shortcuts tab -> Select Services on the left -> Find the name you gave the Automator action, assign whatever key combo you want. I'm currently using Cmd-Shift-1.