Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

How to make global variables in ObjectiveC

gagandeepbgagandeepb Posts: 88Registered Users
edited December 2008 in iPhone SDK Development
I am new in ObjectiveC. I am creating one NSMutableArray object in .h file setting its property and releasing in dealloc in .m file.
Now i am adding objects in this array in the method ViewDidLoad. So the objects should remain be there in this array (like global array) until i move from this view but in my pickerView control every time when i scroll this array shows 0 object and i can't add objects every time in my picker view methods because it may slow down it when object count grows and i am fetching objects from local db.
Let me know how can we retain objects here. In .NET we use viewstate and sessions for retaining objects value when page postback or load again.
Post edited by gagandeepb on

Replies

• rames44rames44 Posts: 365Tutorial Authors, Registered Users @ @
    edited October 2008
    One simple way to do this would be to make the array a member of your application delegate object. That object is a singleton, so it exists for the duration of your application.
    For a little fun, check out my <a href="http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=298866985&mt=8" target="_blank">Biorhythms</a> app
  • FontanoFontano Posts: 150Registered Users
    edited October 2008
    I have/had the similar question as the OP.
    Researching last night, did lead to the similar answer from rames44.

My new question is, is that the Preferred, Best Parctice way of doing it.
    I did a lot of google searches last night, and I couldn't identify a definitive way to do it other wise.