Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

How to create the UIView and a UIViewController programatically without using a NIB

MoBillMoBill Posts: 3New Users
I am new to Iphone development. I am trying to learn some of the basics about creating views and view controllers. All the samples and documentation I've come across use the Interface Builder and NIB files to create UIViewControllers and UIViews. Is there a way to create the controller and the UIView programatically and not use the interface builder?

Thanks
Post edited by MoBill on

Replies

• RickMaddyRickMaddy Posts: 2,122New Users
    edited November 2008
    Sure. My latest app has 32 view controllers and zero nibs.

It's actually pretty easy once you get the basics down. Since you have to write the UIViewController based class either way, you are already half way there.

Here's the pattern I use.
    1) Change your 'initWithNib' method with just and 'init' method. Set whatever you need in this 'constructor'.
    2) Don't use 'loadView'
    3) I use 'viewDidLoad' to create my entire view. Here I create all the items that will go in the view and add them as subviews to 'self.view'. You don't need to create the main view object. If you don't do this explicitly, an empty UIView will be created for you. This is what you get from 'self.view' - the empty view. So add your labels, buttons, images, whatever as subviews.
    4) Add 'viewWill/DidAppear' methods as needed.

Of course without IB you now need to make all of the event connections yourself and calculate all of the subview frames but that gets easier and easier as you do this more.

You end up with a lot more 'creation' code since just creating one UILabel can be 10 lines of code for all the little configuration items.

But I like the control and I know what's going on. I don't like the 'magic' done for me.