Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

How do I create text animation, where text is highlighted and synced with narration?

MikeSpearsMikeSpears Posts: 3New Users
edited April 2011 in iPhone SDK Development
I'm new to iOS development :confused: and have started working on an app that includes a feature that presents a text block along with audio narration. I want to animate the text so that the narration is synced so that the text is highlighted as the audio reads the words. This is common in children books, allowing the reader to follow along visually, word-by-word, with the audio.

I've looked through the Apple documentation and have found nothing helpful.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Sample code references, even greater.

Thanks.
Post edited by MikeSpears on

Replies

• Objective ZeroObjective Zero Posts: 1,235Registered Users @ @ @ @
    edited March 2011
    Let me ask you this, do you know exactly when the word will be said. Because if you do, just use a NSTimer after your audio file starts and then do it that way. Otherwise, trying to do speech to text then trying to match it is 100% harder.
    <a href="http://google.com" target="_blank">Questions?</a><br />
    <br />
    Check out my OCR app!<br />
    <a href="http://itunes.apple.com/app/ocr-pro/id486512712?mt=8" target="_blank">http://itunes.apple.com/app/ocr-pro/id486512712?mt=8</a>;
  • MikeSpearsMikeSpears Posts: 3New Users
    edited March 2011
    Thanks for the reply Objective Zero.

Yes, I do know exactly when the word will be said. And I think I have it figured out how to sync the audio with the text animation.