Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

App Development Newbie - Would Appreciate Guidance

Take2Take2 LondonPosts: 2New Users Noob
Hi everyone,

As the title of this post suggests, I am completely new to app development. In fact, I have zero experience in any form of computer software development whatsoever. But you have to start somewhere, so here I am.

I’m particularly interested in developing gaming apps, but I have absolutely no idea where to begin. I would appreciate some guidance on the following

1) Macbook: I don’t have one. Which is best for app development needs, the Mini, Air or Pro? Money is not so much of an issue as I can pay on finance, but of course I’d like to be sensible and not pay over the top for software / hardware I don’t need.

2) Education: Once I have the Macbook, which resources can I use to start learning code? Tutorials, books, programs?

3) Code: Which code should I learn? I understand Swift is new. Is it worthwhile learning this and ignoring the long-established Objective-C? Or should I learn on something completely different given my zero past experience.

4) Templates: The game I’d like to create is a platform adventure game. Is it possible (and even advisable) to obtain an existing template and adjust it to my own taste, using the code I learn? Or could this be considered some form of copyright infringement / lead to a legal issue?

I appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks,
Take2

Replies

• jack_bjack_b Posts: 9New Users Noob
    edited February 2015