Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Slick's Definitive Guide To Properties

Replies

• MikeTheCatMikeTheCat Posts: 24Registered Users
    edited April 2010
    I'm studying your article and appreciating how clearly you're describing the issues. I'm writing my first iPhone app and I'm new to C and the Mac, so I'm surprised that my app doesn't reveal any memory leaks in Instruments or in the Clang Static Analyzer.

But since I'm still not sure what I'm doing, I'm chasing down every little thing that is confusing or different from what I "learned" elsewhere.

In the case at hand, your Fig. 2 shows this:

@synthesize myProperty=myInstanceVariable;

but I don't know why you don't just do:

@synthesize myInstanceVariable;

I'm using SDK 3.1.3 on Leopard.
    edited April 2010
    In another thread here:

http://www.iphonedevsdk.com/forum/iphone-sdk-development/2374-property-synthesize.html

Jeff Lamarche wrote this:

"Personal preference, but on the iPhone I use them. On the Mac, not so much, only because if you use them, people on older versions of OS X (pre-Leopard) can't run your program. For new programs, though, I use them, they're awfully convenient compared to building accessors and mutators, and they make it much easier to get your memory management right because you can specify (retain) in the property's attributes and it handles retaining and releasing the objects you assign. "

Should I understand that to mean that as long as I never use dot-syntax for instance variables (that have properties and are synthesized), I don't have to do anything beyond the release in the dealloc?
  • smithdale87smithdale87 Posts: 4,447iPhone Dev SDK Supporter @ @ @ @ @
    edited April 2010
    You can do this if you want the property name to be different from the instance variable name.