Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Danger: Modifying pbxproj File

MichMich Posts: 33Registered Users
edited March 2009 in Mac OS X Development
Greetings all. While this is related to iPhone development, I think I should post in this section of the forums. I'm still fairly new to developing on a Mac. The release of the iPhone SDK is what finally pushed me over the line to get a Mac and start using Xcode.

I've developed on Windows using Visual Studio for a number of years, so I have a good base understanding of what the do's and don'ts are for general development.

On to the question at hand. Let's say I have an Xcode project called MyGame.xcodeproj. Inside the package contents is a file called project.pbxproj. It took me a while to realize that the .pbxproj can be edited like a text file (sort of).

I would like to know what the dangers are for making small, manual edits to this file. I am aiming for a very specific change that has not produced any noticeable problems. In the Xcode source tree, I have a folder called "Resources". In there I have added references to a couple of folders. This includes all subfolders and files.

In the file, under /* Begin PBXFileReference Section */, I found the reference to the file path of this folder:

7DE38F670F6F18FC0033976F /* common */ = {isa = PBXFileReference; lastKnownFileType = folder; name = common; path = /Users/gamedevmich/MyGames/MyGame/common; sourceTree = "<absolute>"; };

Example Change: /Users/gamedevmich/TestGame/common

I've changed the file path text, which automatically updates the folder when viewing it from Xcode. No errors have occurred, but I do not want to rely on my own limited experience.

Thanks in advance for any help =)
Post edited by Mich on

Replies

• costancostan Posts: 1New Users
    edited March 2009
    Mich,