Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

TEENAGE SON WANTS TO GET INTO PROGRAMMING - WHERE TO START?

dazza1304dazza1304 Posts: 3New Users
edited October 2010 in Off Topic
Hi guys,

I am looking for advice from those that know.

My teenage son (15) is really into computers and wants to get into programming, thinking this is his career choice.

I don't know if its relevant, but he currently has a windows laptop and is looking to get a mac mini. He is really into gaming, although like his father, he likes gadgets and likes playing with the iphone (hence the post on this forum).

Can anyone offer any advice on what is the best way to get started by being self taught and also guidance on what languages he should look to learn?

Advice from well experienced programmers would be very welcome, so that I can try and guide him in the right direct.

Many thanks....
Post edited by dazza1304 on

Replies

• dazza1304dazza1304 Posts: 3New Users
    edited June 2010
    i guys,

My teenage son (15) is really into computers and wants to get into programming, thinking this is his career choice.

I don't know if its relevant, but he currently has a windows laptop and is looking to get a mac mini. He is really into gaming, although like his father, he likes gadgets and likes playing with the iphone (hence the post on this forum).

Can anyone offer any advice on what is the best way to get started by being self taught and also guidance on what languages he should look to learn?

Advice from well experienced programmers would be very welcome, so that I can try and guide him in the right direct.

Many thanks....
  • TapTouchClickTapTouchClick Bay Area, CAPosts: 679New Users @ @ @
    edited June 2010