Advertise here

Advertise here

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How should I market my first large game?

kasperssonkaspersson FinlandPosts: 7New Users Noob
Hello everyone!

I've been developing a large game for 6 months now, and it will be ready soon. The question is; how about the marketing?

Should I do a smooth launch (release the game to App store with no pre-marketing), and after that, make a trailer, reach to reviewers, and so on.

OR

Make a trailer, pre-release the game to reviewers, make a fuzz on the social-media a month or so, before the game gets released. This method could probably cause a larger rush on the release date, which could lead to a higher rank (that causing more people to find the game)

Have you got any experience with these strategies? Are there any nugget of wisdom? :)

Thanks a lot, my friends :)

Replies

• Bilal_DSBilal_DS LondonPosts: 5New Users Noob
    In my opinion, pre-launch marketing is very important.

Freemium game, IAP, monetization with ads, social media connection...?

Strategy changes with the context.
  • kasperssonkaspersson FinlandPosts: 7New Users Noob
    Bilal_DS wrote: »
    In my opinion, pre-launch marketing is very important.

Freemium game, IAP, monetization with ads, social media connection...?

Strategy changes with the context.

Hi,
    My game comes with IAPs and ads. There will probably be social-media connection, but i haven't yet decided.
    Without enter in the detail, in my opinion App Store Optimization and marketing are key for success.

Be present on social media (FB mainly, twitter and You Tube why not) and maintain a community around your game (you can use tools like Hootsuite for example) is very important.

It's a virtuous circle, if you optimize your launch and your first downloads, you are able to obtain a best ranking and generate other downloads.